Thoughts on the low FODMAP diet

I haven’t quite abandoned the low FODMAP diet but I know it hasn’t worked for me. Briefly, for those unfamiliar with FODMAPs, they are types of carbohydrate that aren’t digested well, if at all, by the body but are feasted on by bacteria. They are found in a variety of types of food, including some fruit and vegetables. A diet low in FODMAPs has been shown to improve symptoms in IBS patients and is now seen by many as the primary dietary intervention for treatment of IBS.

I tried to follow the low FODMAP diet religiously for eight weeks to see if it improved my flatulence. Logically it made good sense: cutting out the foods that bacteria feast on means there’s less for them to digest and consequently they’ll produce less carbon dioxide and other intestinal gases that make their way into our farts. But, as Anthony Trollope said, seldom is it that theories stand up to the wear and tear of practice.

On a positive note, almost immediately I found that the IBS symptoms that I did experience (urgency, diarrhoea) all but disappeared. Later on in the diet I found I  experienced these occasionally but not to the same extent. However, rather than improve my flatulence, I found it actually made things worse. This isn’t supposed to be a post theorising why that might be the case, though. Rather, it is to highlight some of the problems I faced, and concerns I have, with the diet.

The cost

I wouldn’t say that I spent more or less money following the diet, although some staples I came to rely on, like gluten-free bread and pasta, aren’t cheap compared to their wheat-based cousins. And to people on tight budgets, I fear the low FODMAP diet may be less affordable. For me, though, the biggest cost was paying for a dietician, which certainly wasn’t cheap. Nor am I convinced a dietician was good value for money.

The dietician

Obviously dieticians differ in quality. Some will be superb, others will be inexperienced, and most don’t know anything about the low FODMAP diet anyway! However, the general advice is that you should only go on the low FODMAP diet under the supervision of a dietician to make sure you’re still getting the right balance of nutrients.

That said, the only reason my dietician spotted I wasn’t getting enough fibre was because I’d kept a fastidious food diary on my own volition. There is so much information out on the Internet about the low FODMAP diet now, I fail to see what value the dietician can add unless they are helping you adjust your existing diet or trying to find affordable options for people struggling with cash. And unless the low FODMAP diet, and managed dietary intervention in general, are better recognised by the NHS in general, and GPs in particular, as a treatment for IBS, I don’t see how people less well off would be able to get access to this support.

The portion sizes

I think the majority of dieticians who recommend the low FODMAP diet in the UK have been trained by King’s College, London. As such, patients are often given King’s guide ‘Reducing fermentable carbohydrates the low FODMAP way’. They might also get the book ‘Suitable products for the low FODMAP diet’. These are both simple books to follow (although it might be helpful to have a single page summarising all the ingredients you can eat).

However, the one thing I struggled with understanding was portion sizes. The guidebook helpfully suggests portion sizes in grams for some fruit but on other occasions it gave portions in tablespoons. Now, there are different sizes of tablespoon in every cutlery canteen, and these are a lot bigger than the tablespoon measure I use for baking. So what exactly does a tablespoon of sweet potato, fennel or peas look like? Or a slice of beetroot? I think some clarity here would certainly make the advice easier to follow.

The lack of fibre

It’s all very well advising patients to make sure they have enough fibre but it’s a bit impractical getting them to work out how much they are consuming and how this will change on the low FODMAP diet (an area where the dietician could really help). However, I’m the sort of person who would do such a thing and I worked out that I was probably getting between 2 and 4 grams less fibre a day on the diet than I would have normally, largely because of the vegetables and fruit I was cutting out. I found that oatcakes and linseeds helped plug some of this gap. Indeed, I found that my flatulence improved marginally when I was less constipated.

The side effects

As the diet progressed, I found I was getting more and more depressed. This was probably for a variety of reasons:

  • the diet was the most promising solution to my problem and it wasn’t working
  • it was pretty exhausting trying to work out things to make for lunch and dinner every day, even for a person who enjoys cooking
  • changes in the gut microbiota

Studies have shown that dietary changes alter the balance and proportion of bacteria in the gut and that microbial colonies can alter mood and personality. In a significant number of patients, the low FODMAP diet has been shown to reduce the proportion of Bifidobacteria in the gut proving that it too has an effect on the gut microbiota. What effect this might have on mood, though, hasn’t been studied. However, I found that when I did have a slightly higher FODMAP dinner one evening after I’d given up on the diet, although my symptoms got a little worse, I did feel happier.

There’s another thing about the drop in Bifidobacteria, though. This genus of bacteria doesn’t produce carbon dioxide so, if it is reduced, there is less competition faced by its gas-producing cousins. In fact, for a short while after my eight week trial of the diet, I maintained the regime as best as I could but introduced the prebiotic Bimuno IBAID, which has been shown to selectively increase Bifidobacteria, and saw some improvement in my flatulence.

The unknown

Perhaps the key thing about the low FODMAP diet is that no one knows what the long term effects of the low FODMAP diet are. Are there yet unidentified, long term iatrogenic effects that may cause more serious problems in the future, and would these risks be acceptable for relief in the present?

The reintroduction of FODMAPs

Patients who find that the diet works for them are encouraged to reintroduce different FODMAPs one at a time to identify which ones they are sensitive to. As I hadn’t had adequate relief from the diet I didn’t go through this but I did find that on eating some foods after the diet I experienced more severe symptoms than previously the first couple of times I ate them although these subsided after a while. I first thought that this meant I wouldn’t be able to eat that food again – indeed, anecdotal evidence suggests that some people who try the diet and find it doesn’t work as well as hoped for still stay with it for this very reason. However, I found that my body did adjust once again.

Of course, once you settle into the diet for the long term, it’s not clear how you keep up to date with new information about high and low FODMAP foods. It’s not unheard of for food that was once thought to be low in FODMAPs to be shown to be high in one of them and vice versa, for instance.

The future, FODMAPs and me

I still avoid eating much wheat – sticking to a single burger bap at BBQs I’ve been to recently for instance – don’t touch beans (green beans seem to be okay), and I’m slowly identifying high FODMAP foods that seem to be more consistently correlated with worse symptoms. Since ending the diet properly, I have had improved symptoms and worse symptoms. It is simply proving impossible for me to gauge what my triggers are: they really are unpredictable. I will continue to use FODMAPs as a guide for what to avoid, but my symptoms are clearly a lot more complicated than that.

6 thoughts on “Thoughts on the low FODMAP diet

  1. Jordan October 31, 2014 / 9:46 pm

    I have found this blog so comforting to read through as I myself suffer with pretty much the EXACT same symptoms!
    I have also been following the Fodmap diet (loosely) for a few weeks and also found limited results. Symptoms such as cramping, urgency and wind are better, constipation is worse, mood is low because always preparing food in advance is a bore. Eating out becomes nearly impossible. Saying no to yummy things is depressing!
    I would love to know what you think about an overpopulation of intestinal bacteria in the small intestine though, as I recently had a course of antibiotics (metronidazole) for a tooth infection and had some pretty astonishing results.
    I did have TERRIBLE constipation after and during the course of antibiotics (which was a 3 day course), but suffered with next to ZERO wind! I was eating everything I would normally avoid (bread, beans, large quantities of onions and even dried apricots!) and I was symptom free for a whole week after the course of antibiotics finished. I thought I had hit the jackpot! Although the constipation was bad, honestly, having no wind for a week felt like heaven. Unfortunately, I’m back to square one now but it was certainly an interesting accidental discovery. I’d love to hear your theory!

    Like

    • patientj November 2, 2014 / 9:42 am

      Glad the article was helpful to you and it’s nice to hear I’m not alone.

      In answer to your question, SIBO, or small intestinal bacterial overgrowth, is a condition where bacteria which usually reside in the colon (large intestine) move further up the gut into the small intestine. I don’t think researchers understand why but one theory I’m familiar with is that irregularities in the usual peristaltic movements of the gut mean the bacteria have an opportunity to flow against the current. The reasoning continues that once here they digest more of the food in the small intestine before it is absorbed by the body leading to more flatulence. I like the idea and sometimes wonder whether it is partly responsible for my symptoms but, although I’m no expert (medical or otherwise!), I suspect your symptom improvements/changes may not be related.

      One of the side effects of metronidazole is digestive problems, which would certainly include constipation. The drug is also used to treat infections in the large intestine so your experiences might be the result of the widespread impact of the anti-microbial drug in the gut, rather than specifically bacteria in the small intestine. There have been several trials with another drug called rifaximin which have shown improvements in some patients with IBS. As to the cause of the side effects, I think that one of the theories about the gut bacteria (but I can’t remember if I’ve read any of the research or what that research specifically said!) is that they help to regulate the functioning of the gut, so if you’d temporarily wiped out your so-called ‘gut microbiome’ that could be the reason why.

      I am slowly drawing together two or three other blog posts in my mind at the moment on possible causes, based on personal experience, research publications to date and my own understanding of gastroenterology so keep checking back periodically. Not sure how long it will take to sit down and write them up as I’m a little pre-occupied with work and other hobbies at the moment but I do want to write something before the year’s out. In the meantime, I’d be interested to learn if your own GP or, even better, gastroenterologist have any theories.

      Like

  2. a1067708 November 22, 2014 / 1:44 am

    I am in Australia and I’m doing the FODMAPs hydrogen breath tests by post, as the tests are processed in Melbourne and I’m in Adelaide.
    Monash University, who are doing research into FODMAPs, have an app which gives details of high and low FODMAP foods. They aim to update the list as often as they can. I’ll paste the link below.
    I would imagine the serving sizes they use are based on Australian measurements. We have standard sized tablespoons, cups etc. for cooking, and these may not be the same as the ones in the kitchen drawer. I’ve pasted a link to what looks like a helpful conversion site below.
    Good luck!

    http://www.med.monash.edu/cecs/gastro/fodmap/
    http://alldownunder.com/australian-convert/measurement-chart.htm

    Like

  3. Dianna Scott August 17, 2016 / 7:33 pm

    I have been following for 15 days now. I am slowly losing a few lbs a week. A nice plus. But on day 10 I had severe explosive diarrhea all day (lost 6 lbs) and felt ill for 4 days. But i did not have much usual abdominal cramping. I wondered if it was some type of “gut cleansing ” as I feel better than I have for a while. Has anyone had a similar experience? Also , my GI Dr has me on probiotics and miralax twice a day.

    Like

    • patientj August 20, 2016 / 4:01 pm

      Thanks for stopping by.

      In my experience, when I have a bad episode, the following day is normally pretty good. I put this down to the bacteria responsible for my IBS symptoms being expunged so there’s less likelihood of pain, bloating and cramps the next day.

      Like

  4. a1067708 August 20, 2016 / 11:59 pm

    I lost 5 kg in week when I was doing the hydrogen breath testing nearly two years ago. I was on a low FODMAP diet, eating certain portion sizes at certain times, as recommended by the testing centre. The weight loss was due to hypoglycaemia. The tests revealed I did have SIBO. I’ve been on a low FODMAP diet for nearly two years now. It helps, but it hasn’t cured me. I also had a faecal transfer earlier this year – still no better. Xifaxan didn’t help either.
    This week I have started taking Questran, to see if I have bile acid malabsorption. It is helping so far with the diarrhoea, but now I have stomach ache at various times. However, it is recommended to take Questran for a couple of weeks to see if it is really effective, so I will try another week’s worth and see what my GP thinks.

    Like

Leave a comment